When Would I Have to Know How to Spell Thesaurus?

Let me tell you something you may not know about me.
I’m a dreamer.
I go through life plans about 5 times a week.
If you ever hear me say, “I’m going to…” Chances are, I won’t, or I’ll get side tracked. Like going to Europe after college. That was like… 8 years ago.
I’m also impatient.
I’m a hard worker but some things are just too hard.

For as long as I can remember I’ve been singing. I was a back up singer in 3rd grade for Bob Schneider.

I was in fact a rainbow kid, and we sang in malls in and around Kitchener. I learned my first mic etiquette from this time.

I was in fact a rainbow kid, and we sang in malls in and around Kitchener. I learned my first mic etiquette from this time.I got all the solo’s in school and never had to audition. I did theater in college and didn’t get into the 3 year program because of my immaturity, which at the time was b.s., but looking back, so true.

I got all the solo’s in school and never had to audition. I did theater in college and didn’t get into the 3 year program because of my immaturity, which at the time was b.s., but looking back, so true.
I started singing in bands not long after I started my backup diploma and have been doing that since.

I started singing in bands not long after I started my backup diploma and have been doing that since.
I have wanted to be a rock star since the moment my foot hit my first stage.
Since April, not so much. Once I thought about; actually thought about all the stuff I’d have to sacrifice like sleep, my bed, freedom and so forth,  I decided to be a recording engineer…

So I bought a bunch of books. Read up on it. Started volunteering at a recording studio. Started editing and setting up mics and listening to someone that knew better than I did about what works and what doesn’t.
My A.D.D. kicked in right around the 1st hour of editing drum tracks.
So, I thought to myself that I like the music business, why not start a record label?
Again, I bought a bunch of books, talked to other label owners, and was totally interested until I read that I’d have to get a bar code and a name copyrighted, and the company set up so I wouldn’t get sued, and make contacts with other companies to get what I wanted, and how hard it is to get c.d.’s on the shelves…

Then I said, fuck it. I’d rather someone else do it for me.

One day I woke up in my tiny ass crappy apartment in Hamilton and thought to myself, “Man, do I hate it here.”
So, I started looking for places to live out West, where the mountains are, and fresh air, and people that seem to be way more relaxed than I was at the present time.
And then I did the math.
2 weeks later, I bought a house in downtown Hamilton.

What. The. Fudge.
Who does that?

I’m way too wishy washy. How can I ever expect people to keep up to me if I can’t even see where it is I’m going?

Things have to be black or white. Easy, or hard. No grey areas. Nothing in between. If there’s any hint of grey than I have to find something easier to accomplish. I don’t know why or where this trait came from, but my step dad has the same thing, which is weird and I could go into a whole other argument of nature vs. nurture here, but I digress.

Know this. Amberley. Is. Confused.
Confusing.
Muddled.
Discombobulated.
Perturbed.
I love google thesaurus.
Until next time.

1 comment so far

  1. craig on

    Suddenly I recall a conversation from the other night. We may or may not have been drunk, but were definitely wearing awesome sweaters.
    The reason I decided not to start a record label is because it seems like a poor business decision, aside from the fact that I’d have to do a bunch of hard work.
    It’s my recent belief that, since everyone’s stealing music more and more from the internet, that selling recorded music is only going to make less and less money, so why dilute that market even more? Exactly. Dumb.
    This comment was going somewhere, but the caffeine hasn’t kicked in yet.


Leave a Reply

